DLG in the news

As we sort the rubble of turkey carcasses and pie tins looking for motivation to return to work, a couple of news items about the Digital Library of Georgia.

1. The Civil Rights Digital Library has been awarded 2010 Schwartz Prize for excellence in the public humanities by the Federation of State Humanities Councils. Read the University of Georgia press release here.

The second Schwartz Prize goes to an initiative to deliver education content on the civil rights movement via the web. This online library contains 30 hours (about 450 clips) of historical news footage, a civil rights portal that allows users to access material on the movements from 100 libraries and organizations nationwide, and instructional video.

2. Sheila McAlister – data wrangling librarian by day, polka dotted roller derby queen by night – is profiled in the University of Georgia Columns. Learn a bit about the DLG’s Associate Director and her role in making the DLG a successful enterprise.

“One of my favorite things about this job is figuring out how to do a project—the planning. In reviewing grant proposals, you pull it apart, ask if it’s feasible, will it have an impact? I really enjoy that analysis,” McAlister said. “I also make suggestions to applicants on how to improve their projects.”

No tags for this post.

An Emmy!

Photo credit: Mary Linnemann

What can you do with a digital library? The answer: win an Emmy.

Stars from several departments in the UGA Library were part of the collaborative effort – from the genesis of the Civil Rights Digital Library to the program conceived by Ambassador Andrew Young – that culminated in this honor. I’m re-posting from the Richard B. Russell Library blog so as not to leave anyone out:

On Saturday, June 26, the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences held its 36th presentation of the Southeast Regional EMMY Awards in Atlanta. UGA came up a winner for its work on the program Andrew Young Presents: How We Got Over, which showcases the Civil Rights Digital Library and the role archives play in preserving the past. The program was recognized in the category of Outstanding Achievement: Television Crafts Achievement Excellence, Technical Achievement. Individuals included in the entry were: Andrew Young, CB Hackworth, James Benyshek, Barbara McCaskill, Ruta Abolins, Scott Auerbach, Toby Graham, Christina Davis, Mary Boyce Hicks, Lauren Chambers, Stacie L. Walker, Anthony Omerikwa, Kendra Abercrombie, Jack English, Ray Moore, Charlayne Hunter-Gault, Andrea Young, Margie Compton, Craig Breaden, Russ Jamieson, Courtney Thomas, Aggie Ebrahimi, and J.D. Brandon.

No tags for this post.